Holders of a commercial motor vehicle driver’s license are not eligible for a driving safety course or deferred disposition.
If you meet the State requirements, you may request that (one) offense be dismissed by taking a 6-hour driving safety course (defensive driving):
- You must provide notice to the court of your request on or before your appearance date. (You cannot have a speeding citation dismissed if it is a violation of 25 miles per hour or more above the posted limit or in a construction zone when workers are present.)
- You are ineligible if you have used this option within one year immediately preceding the date of the citation.
- You must have a valid Texas driver’s license or permit. You must show proof of financial responsibility as required by section 1a, Texas motor vehicle safety-responsibility act.
You will be required to pay $144 court costs ($169 school zone) and provide proof of insurance on or before your deadline. You will have 90 days from the date of the request to complete an approved driving safety course and to provide the court with required documentation showing successful completion of the driving safety course and a certified copy of your driving record (form 3A). If you meet the eligibility requirements as stated on the Driving Safety Course Request Form, then you are responsible for completing the course and remitting the proper completion certificate and driving record (form 3A) to the court.
Request a driver safety course online